You aren't signed in  |  Cart My Cart (0)  |  Sign In  |  Sign Up  |  Adult content filter: ON (turn off)

Anyone heard of WiseRep?

Subscribe to Anyone heard of WiseRep? 5 posts, 5 voices

 
Img_5314sm_tiny_square Estelle Rocc... 25 posts Hi everyone

I was wondering if any of you had heard about WiseRep, I have received a bit of a weird email from them and not quite sure what to think of it, see below:

*****
I like your artwork. Are you selling them through a lot of stores already?

We work with galleries, specialty stores, furniture retailers, large chains and Internet shopping sites who search our website looking for artwork to purchase. We need a larger variety they can choose from, hence my email to you.

If you're able to sell to stores and can offer good prices visit us at http://www.WiseRep.com

If you have any questions please feel free to contact me.

Sincerely,
Mark Pardue
VP Merchandising
WiseRep.com
****
They have a website running, and seem to be charging fees to get the "products" online...
Anyway maybe I'm too suspicious, if you guys have heard of them, please share your insights

Estelle
 
Methree_tiny_square Sewsew 57 posts Got the same email myself this morning, and although I declined the invitation, I would be very interested to know if anyone here has had any dealings with them? Why would they think we artists would pay them when a brill site like Artbreak just takes commisssion on sales? Could their claim be true, that companies buy artwork in bulk? An appealing thought, to sell ALL my work in one hit, but reality tells me it surely must be a scam?
 
P1070445_tiny_square Susquehanna ... 19 posts Not much different from a number of sites offering to represent artists, it's a one way street for the artist, they're selling the same service that Artbreak provides for free. When a gallery charges you to exhibit it's called a vanity gallery.
 
Avatar3white_tiny_square 3Fine Design® 2 posts Yes, I received that same email months ago & never responded.

In addition, I was first contacted by a company called VendorPro about a year ago. They were basically the same type of organization as WiseRep (although they were charging $340.00 a year to register). I immediately did a Google search on VendorPro to find out if they were a scam. At that time, there were several Google entries on the internet of people claiming that they were a scam for various reasons. I did a Google search on VendorPro this morning & discovered a URL that I found to be informative:

http://www.scholarscorner.com/Scriptum/vendorpro.htm

Currently, VendorPro has a message on their website that reads, "Our site is currently being updated. Please check back." That message has been out there for several months now. My guess is that they took a lot of people's money & ran.

http://vendorpro.com

So, all this to say, when I got the form letter from WiseRep (a few months back & shortly after VendorPro contacted me) I basically trashed it due to what I learned about VendorPro. That isn't to say that WiseRep is a scam (because I don't know & haven't done a search on them). I'm not sure what WiseRep's fees are (registration or otherwise). However, I wasn't willing to take that leap & hand over any money to a company very similar to VendorPro. If you're thinking of getting involved with them, I highly recommend doing a thorough Google search on "WiseRep" or "WiseRep scam" to investigate. Better to be safe than sorry.

Hope that helps. : )
 
Lisa_inset2_tiny_square lisafoster 1 post I have been looking at WiseRep, and although it seems to me to be genuine, it also seems to be a money making machine. It's a tad expensive (us $180 plus $30 a month [pu-leeze]), and it appears that they are not having to do any of the work, they provide a list of names of buyers and I presume that means that you have to contact them yourself. Big deal! It is a win win situation for them, it doesn't matter if you don't manage to sell one single thing, they still get their money (from you). I am also thinking that it seems more appropriate for people in the States.
If anyone does it and has any success, let us know! I don't think it's likely to be me!!!